RSS Feed

>Slow-Motion Reading

Posted on

>I hate when this happens! I’m mired in the middle of 3 books right now and can’t seem to finish any of them. Did I say finish? I’d be happy if I could just make it to the middle of at least one. It feels like my eyeballs stepped in chewing gum. There’s a familiar whooshing sound followed by a decisive sounding gurgle. That’s the sound of my dream of triple digits 3 years in a row going down the toilet.

Here’s what I’m reading and my limping progress:

1. Love and Hate in Jamestown – David Price. 33% pages read.
2. The Narrative of Arthur Gordon Pym of Nantucket – Edgar Allen Poe. 37.5% pages read.
3. How Soccer Explains The World – Franklin Foer. 27% pages read.

All of these books are well-written and engaging, so that’s not the reason for my malaise. However, I am reading the Poe novella in a PDF format on my laptop. There are 2 columns of print on each page, so I’m constantly scrolling back and forth, which plays hell with my concentration.

No matter what, I’ve got to finish Poe this weekend. My Cracked Spinz book group is meeting Tuesday to discuss it. Also, the book about Jamestown is due back at the library next week. The soccer book is mine. I might finish it in time for the 2014 World Cup.

Everytime this bogged-down stuff happens, I worry that it might become a permanent condition.

Leave a Reply

