RSS Feed

>January: Buying

>I have never kept track of how many books I buy in a year’s time.

Is it as many as I think/fear/suspect?
We’ll know the answer in a few more months.

Books bought in January, 2010: 8

1. Moby-Dick – Herman Melville. It was past time for my encounter with The White Whale. I saved money by buying a cheap Signet Classics edition with no explanatory notes in the back which I regret. New book.

2. Assassination Vacation – Sarah Vowell. What can I say? Sarah Vowell designed the perfect vacation! American history with humor and attitude. Used book.

3. Bud, Not Buddy – Christopher Paul Curtis. I want to read more children’s literature and this story is set in Depression-era America, which makes it even more desirable. New book.

4. Wicked – Gregory Maguire. BOOKLEAVES book group pick. New book.

5. Great Expectations (audiobook) Narrated by the delectable Hugh Laurie. New audiobook and *very* expensive.

6. Towards Another Summer – Janet Frame. I recently read and saw the book and movie Angel At My Table and became interested in this New Zealand writer. New book.

7. The Rough Guide To Classic Novels – Simon Mason. As if my wishlist weren’t already miles long. Brilliant list! The international aspect will knock your socks off. New book.

8. Frozen In Time: The Fate Of The Franklin Expedition – Owen Beattie & John Geiger. I bought this because I’m interested in doomed expeditions to the Arctic, but I also realized that the authors are Canadian! Good find, eh? Used book.

8 is a little overboard, but not as bad as I could be.
Leave a Reply

