RSS Feed

>Busy Book Week!

Posted on

>

Tick…tick…tick…we’re down to mere hours now, regarding Dewey’s Readathon. Although my participation is on the half-assed side this time, I still can’t help but feel that frisson of excitement. A soupcon of pleasure. Why am I lapsing into French?

Anyway, my plan is to bookend the Readathon with stints of cheerleading at the beginning and end, and make a short appearance sometime in the middle before I run off to book group. I’ll do my best; where are my pom-poms?
After the Readathon, it’s only a few more hours until the 2009 Pulitzers are announced on April 20th. I’m laughably bad at guessing who will win the fiction award, so here goes again: The Story of Edgar Sawtelle by David Wroblewski. No, I haven’t read it. Yes, I know Oprah chose it for her club. It’s just a feeling I have.

The following weekend will find me visiting Talya’s book group, so I must hurry and read their selection — Shanghai Baby by Wei Hui.

Right now, I’m reading A Gentle Madness by Nicholas Basbanes. I love it. It’s like the siren call. Could collecting ever completely take over reading in my life? Is there a deep-seated reason for my blog title? You’re going to get a long and involved review of AGM, I promise. So brace yourselves.
Leave a Reply

