RSS Feed

>Weekly Geeks #12: Ask Me About My Books

Posted on

>
Hooray! I won Free Food For Millionaires by Min Jin Lee in last week’s Weekly Geeks giveaway! Thanks, Dewey! I feel a little embarrassed that my desire for the book and my wish to win was so nakedly obvious, but that embarrassment will probably fade without a trace as soon as the book lands in my mailbox.

This week’s geekish task is to get some buzz going about each other’s books:

1. In your blog, list any books you’ve read but haven’t reviewed yet. If you’re all caught up on reviews, maybe you could try this with whatever books you finish this week.

2. As your readers to ask you questions about any of the books in your comments. Most likely, people who will ask questions will be people who have read one of the books or know something about it because they want to read it.

3. Later, take whichever questions you want from these comments and use them in a post about each book. (Dewey suggested an “interview-review”). Link to each blogger whose question you used.

4. Visit other Weekly Geeks and ask them questions.

As usual, I’m behind on reviews, and always have a little trouble getting started with them, so this will help me with procrastination and self-discipline issues. At the same time, as I visit other bookish blogs, the Biblio-Barbarian inside me can run wild, licking her lips wolfishly at lists and lists and LISTS AND LISTS of books and asking questions about everything that catches her tawny eye! Whoooo-hooo!

Okay, here’s a list of books I haven’t reviewed yet. (Actually, I sort of reviewed The Executioner’s Song, but I was much more interested in seeing how clever I could be with a 6-word review. Mailer’s novel deserves better than that, so fire away, if you’d like.)

The Executioner’s Song – Norman Mailer

The Bone People – Keri Hulme

The Tale Of Despereux – Kate DiCamillo

Self-Consciousness – John Updike

Tete A Tete: The Tumultuous Lives & Loves Of Jean-Paul Sartre & Simone de Beauvoir – Hazel Rowley.

Fifth Business – Robertson Davies

Yo, Geeks! I’ll be over to visit your blogs soon! If, in my eagerness, I blunder through the front gate without unlatching it, trample your petunias, rumple the cushions on the chaise-lounge, spill your iced tea or forget to wipe my feet — it’s not me. Blame my Biblio-Barbarian.

Leave a Reply

