RSS Feed

>Anne Of Avonlea – L.M. Montgomery (Canadian Book Challenge)

Posted on

>I didn’t think it would really happen; I’m actually getting addicted to this series! The rest of the “Anne” books will figure prominently into my list for the Second Canadian Book Challenge. I’ve spotted the whole series both at What The Book? and Kyobo bookstore. Aaron and I were discussing this book before he left Korea, and it sounded exactly like we were talking about our favo(u)rite soap opera.

In Anne Of Avonlea, Anne is back in her hometown and teaching school. She’s also getting the chance to try out her parenting skills when Marilla takes charge of a distant cousin’s twin children, Davy and Dora. Davy is a little too sweet, naughty and adorable. Dora may or may not have a pulse, she’s so good and quiet.

One of Anne’s students, Paul, recently lost his mother. Anne is drawn to him because he’s got a vivid imagination like hers, but he’s living with his stern, literal-minded grandparents who think he’s a little weird. His dialogue was a little cringe worthy — he sort of reminded me of Little Lord Fauntleroy, but I was genuinely glad that things worked out so well for him when his father finally got to town.

Anne and Marilla have also picked up a new neighbor, Mr. Harrison. Freshly arrived from New Brunswick, he’s a little crusty at first, but of course Anne wins him over. (I sort of got a sedate middle-aged crush on Mr. Harrison, and was a little miffed but grudgingly happy at how things worked out for him.) It is plain-spoken characters like Mr. Harrison, Mrs. Rachel Lynde, Diana and of course Marilla, (who remains the perfect straight man for Anne’s loquacious, often fanciful dialogues) that give this book its perfect balance when the prose gets a little purplish.

Gilbert is also teaching school in a town nearby, and seems to be patiently waiting in the wings until Anne is ready for romance, which may not be far off since she’s eighteen when this book ends.

L.M. Montgomery seems hell-bent on convincing readers that PEI is the most perfect spot in the world, body-slamming the reader again and again with descriptions of nature, but try as I might, I can’t get irritated. Instead, I want to vacation there.

I’m hoping to get to Ontario (reading-wise) before this challenge ends, but don’t know if I will. Still, 6 provinces is better than I thought I’d do. Not terribly shabby for an American, eh?

Leave a Reply

